Previous month:
May 2011
Next month:
July 2011

Posts from June 2011

New Music: Kendrick Lamar - "Tammy's Song"


Section.80 Cover


I fully support Kendrick Lamar and his Top Dawg Entertainment movement right now. As I have stated previously on this blog, I think the Compton, Calif. native is in the making of becoming a top rap star. So, I can't wait to hear Lamar's new LP Section.80 when it drops on July 2.

Unfortunately, I'm not feeling "Tammy's Song," which has been leaked to the Internet. Over computer blips and a thudding beat, K.Dot tells a story of several girls who catch their boyfriends cheating on them and their adulturous affairs that soon follows. It's not a bad song, but not my cup of tea.


Kendrick Lamar -- "Tammy's Song"

props: soulculture



New Video: Drake - "Marvin's Room" (Official Video)


Man In The Mirror: Rapper-Cronner Drake



Drake has just released the video for his summer hit song, "Marvins Room" via his official website October's Very Own. The song, undoubtedly, is the most-freestyled-over track with Chris Brown being the latest singer to redo Drizzy's atmospheric ballad.

In the clip, an intoxicated Drake has a "Man in the Mirror" moment after a night out of binge drinking. Blurry images, fades out and spinning rooms give viewers an impression of drunkenness, which serves well for the song's uninhibited story line. It's a great video from the Canadian triple-threat.


New Video: Shaun Boothe - "Let Me Go"


On the 'Go': Rapper Shaun Boothe


Some cool visuals in Shaun Boothe's new video for "Let Me Go," which was directed by Chris G. I wasn't feeling the song at first, but the video made me a believer in the track. Don't get me wrong, Shaun Boothe is a talented rapper and I can't wait to hear more music from him. But the "Let Me Go" single was kinda "meh" to me. So, I'll be listening very closely to his upcoming mixtape Waiting Room, due out in July.


Audio: Common - "Summer Madness" (Prod. By No I.D.)


Rapper Common


Check out this new joint from Common, which is getting massive hits on the Internets. According to Earmilk, the song is from veteran producer No I.D.'s six-track EP titled The Pursuit. The collection features a group of relatively unknown artists called Cocaine 80s, which consists of Common, Kevin Randolph, James Fauntleroy, Steve Wyreman, Rob Kinelski and Makeba. You can download The Pursuit EP via Fake Shore Drive Blog.


Common -- "Summer Madness" (Produced by No I.D.)

via: missinfo | download